Cape Fear Chapter

Chapter Description More Details
May 15, 2013

Send a Letter to your State Senators to Oppose SB 703

Proposed bill would overturn Wrightsville Beach smoking ban

http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/BillLookUp/BillLookUp.pl?Session=2013&BillID=S703

Please take a moment to write your legislators!

Sample Letter:

I respect the rights of citizens and local governments in determining how they want to regulate their communities. SB 703 is designed to overturn a referendum voted in place by a strong majority of the citizens of Wrightsville Beach and limit the authority of municipal governments throughout the state.  I feel that this bill goes a long way in taking the power out of the voter’s hands and places it squarely in the hands of government.  This bill, as it is written, would also remove the rights of our community colleges to be able to effectively govern their campuses.  In my opinion, this would be a step backward in the democratic process we hold so firm.  As it stands, this bill is a clear example of special interest groups and lobbyists trying to trump the will of the public.

As our elected official, I ask that you please stand strong in helping to promote clean and healthy communities and OPPOSE SB 703.

Sincerely,



Jim.Davis@ncleg.net – Senator Jim Davis (REP)
Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net – Senator Tommy Tucker (REP)
Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net – Senator Trudy Wade (REP)
Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net – Senator Tamara Barringer (REP)
Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net – Senator Stan Bingham (REP)
Don.Davis@ncleg.net – Senator Don Davis (DEM)
Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net – Senator Thom Goolsby (REP)
Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net – Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr. (REP)
Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net –  Senator Brent Jackson (REP)
Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net – Senator Eleanor Kinnaird (DEM)
Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net – Senator Gene McLaurin (DEM)
Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net – Senator Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr (DEM)
Louis.Pate@ncleg.net – Senator Louis Pate (REP)
Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net – Senator Jeff Tarte (REP)
Michael.Walters@ncleg.net – Senator Michael P. Walters (DEM)



Comments are closed.